fgm

“I was genitally mutilated at the age of ten. When the operation began, I put up a big fight. The pain was terrible and unbearable… I was badly cut and lost blood… I was genitally mutilated with a blunt penknife. After the operation, no one was allowed to aid me to walk… Sometimes I had to force myself not to urinate for fear of the terrible pain. I was not given any anesthetic in the operation to reduce my pain, nor any antibiotics to fight against infection. Afterwards, I hemorrhaged and became anemic. This was attributed to witchcraft. I suffered for a long time from acute vaginal infections.  ”

Hannah Koroma, Sierra Leone

Fay Mohammad, one of thousands of girls castrated every day by pagan African or Islamic beliefs

Fay Mohammad, one of thousands of girls castrated every day by pagan African or Islamic beliefs

Tags: , ,

One response to “fgm”

  1. OyiaBrown says :

    Reblogged this on Oyia Brown and commented:
    Totally beyond our comprehension!

Leave a Reply

